A surcharge is a form of fine that is charged by the New Jersey Violation System (NJSVS) on an annual basis. The fine is charged on drivers whose driving records have an excessive number of points of a traffic violation. Also, they may be convicted for breaking traffic rules like Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), etc. these fines are a part of other penalties and fines charged by the court.
You can easily pay these fines online through the system provided for it. In this guide, you will learn how to pay the New Jersey surcharge bills online through the official website. Before learning about this method, you must know about the different causes because of which you can be surcharged.
How is the NJ Surcharge Levied?
Whenever you break any traffic rule you get a traffic ticket. Each traffic ticket has some points which are added to the driving license.
If at any time you have more than six points within your driving license in three years then you are charged with $100.
The charge is levied for consecutive three years annually. Along with this, you are charged with an extra $25 for every point.
If there are any additional violations then you will be surcharged as follows:
- If you are an unlicensed driver or your driving license has expired then $100 will be levied as fine. This makes the total charge amount of $300.
- If you are driving with a suspended driving license then you will be charged $250. This makes the total charge amount of $750.
- If you fail to get your moped insured then you will be charged $100. This makes the total charge amount of $300.
- If you are driving an uninsured vehicle then you will be charged $250 which will make the total charge like $750.
- $1000 is charged for the first and second violation of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) rule. This makes the total charge $3000
- For the third violation of Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) rule $1500 is charged. This makes the total charge $4500.
At any time during the driving if you refuse to undertake an alcohol measurement test then you will be charged $1000. This makes the final surcharge amount to be $3000.
What will happen after the non-payment of the NJ Surcharge?
Non-payment of surcharge and ignorance of the notice leads to suspension of driving license. After suspension order, you must not drive. If you continue driving after the issue of suspension order then you will violate a serious motor vehicle rule. This will lead to additional fines and penalties.
Even after the issue of the suspension order, you don’t pay the surcharge then a certificate of debt is issued in your name in the Superior court. This document will allow the state to collect the amount of fine without your approval. It also includes collection costs as well as interest on the unpaid balance. Your name and details are also reported to lead credit bureaus. The collection firms and state maintain collaboration for collecting the unpaid amount.
How to Pay NJ Surcharge?
To pay NJ surcharge there are four different ways:
- First, you will receive a billing notice. This notice contains the payment envelope. You are allowed to pay through check or money order. If the payment envelope is not included then you can send the cheque or money order at the following address:
“NJSVS, P.O. Box no. 1502, Moorestown, NJ 08057-9704”
- Another way of paying is online through debit and credit cards. All major categories of debit and credit cards work for payment. Some of the banks may charge a 2-3 % processing fee for providing this service. The online payment can be made on the official website of NJSVS.
- You can pay the surcharge amount by calling the toll-free number: (844) 424-6829. The payment will be made again through debit and credit cards.
- You can pay a surcharge in cash. The cash can be deposited at Western Union Location in New Jersey or nationwide.
- All the payment details of the surcharge are available on the bill. For any further details, you can dial the toll-free number mentioned above. You can access the details of your account and obtain the required information.
Even if you move out of New Jersey then also you have to pay the amount of surcharge due to you. With this, you also are liable for giving the NJ driving license back and get a new license issued for the new area.
If your license is suspended then you are also reported to the National Driver Registry. Thus, the new state will issue the license only after your suspension period is over and you have cleared all your surcharge dues.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
You can use this site to check your Surcharge Record and make a Surcharge Payment – https://www1.state.nj.us/TYTR_NJAISC_Web/. Contact Information: Toll-Free Customer Service Centre is 844-424-6829 (between 8:00 am to 5:00 pm – Monday to Friday)
Call the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission at 609-292-6500 or 1-888-486-3339. Once you’ve put someone online, request your driver history summary.
For first or second violation the surcharge will be $1,000 a year for three years. For a third or subsequent violation that occurs within three years of the first violation, the surcharge of $1,500 for three years is imposed.
To check the status of your driving privileges or pay the reinstatement fee, visit texas.gov. You will need your DL/ID number, date of birth and the last four digits of your social security number.
The New Jersey Surcharge is the program used by New Jersey to charge additional fees through the Department of Motor Vehicles that are typically two to three times the amount of a traffic violation in addition to the original ticket in order to provide additional money for the state. budget.
3 Years– These surcharges are imposed in addition to judicial fines and penalties and are billed for three years. Each time you are convicted of a one-time offence or after other serious events occur, your driving record is reviewed.
To reinstate your licence or registration after it has been suspended for excessive points, you will need to follow the same steps as if you were caught driving without insurance. Pay all associated fines, complete the period of suspension and submit your licence reinstatement fee to the New Jersey SVM.